Becoming A Feminist Activist

Link: Becoming A Feminist Activist

My take on becoming a feminist activist, written for the AWID Blogathon on the Young Feminist Wire

Here’s the 1st paragraph, to read more, follow the link:

I believe becoming a feminist activist creeps up on you. You don’t wake up one day thinking: « Mmm, right, after coffee I’ll just go and advocate for women’s rights, now shall I? ». At least this isn’t how it happened for me. Becoming an activist was the result of an internal process fuelled by observations: a condescending attitude from a man , a patronising comment , an inner sense of difference because I am a woman, and because I am an Arab woman who lived in a small French town rife with prejudices and misconceptions about Arab women. In general, all of this conspired to render me attentive to stories of oppression from a young age…Read more at http://yfa.awid.org/2011/11/becoming-a-feminist-activist/

Leave a Reply

